Annual Dinner 2017


A successful annual dinner was held at Carmarthen Golf Club on Friday 13th October despite it being not well supported by around half of affiliated clubs. Members and guests were welcomed to the dinner by the President of Carmarthen GC, Howard Thomas. Grace was said by Michael Williams, President of DGU. After a sumptuous meal, Michael Williams proposed a toast to Wales Golf which was suitably responded to by the President Jeff Harries from Carmarthen. Michael Williams presented the trophies to individuals and division champions supported by Elaine Rees, the DGU match/fixture secretary.

County competition winners

Seniors (55-64yrs) – Ian Robertson, Derllys Court

Veterans(65+) – Les Burgoyne, Derllys Court

Seniors champion – John Roberts, Milford Haven.

Mid/long champion – Alan Webster, Haverfordwest

Four ball champions – Josh Lewis and Calum Day, Milford Haven

Mixed champions – Michael and Sarah Bevan, Haverfordwest.

Super six champions – Cardigan

Jeff Harries Knock Out Bowl – Carmarthen

League winners

Division 4 – Cardigan

Division 3 – South Pembs

Division 2 – Haverfordwest

Division 1 – Carmarthen

DGU Championship

Best nett – Ian Marks, Carmarthen

Dyfed Champion – Luke Harries, Tenby

Secretary Jeff Harries gave a report on matches, competitions and individual national successes during the year. A raffle was drawn with numerous generous prizes given by affiliated clubs. Comedian Lennie Dee kept a captive audience amused for nearly an hour. To close proceedings DGU chairman Robert Walters proposed a vote of thanks to all who had contributed to the evening and to Jeff Harries and Elaine Rees who had made all the arrangements.

The DGU would like to thank Carmarthen GC most sincerely for hosting the event and past President Terry James for helping on the day.

Leave a Reply