Junior AGM Minutes 2019

DYFED GOLFING UNION JUNIOR SECTION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Held at Carmarthen Golf Club, Wednesday 16th January 2019 at 7.00pm Present: Dai Evans(Chairman), Jeff Harries(Secretary),Henry Malloy(Junior Organiser),Brian Newcombe(Treasurer), Rhys Harry (Junior Coach),David Blackmore(Press officer), Mark Creamer(Vice Chairman), Rhys Evans(Cilgwyn),Brett Walker(Carmarthen), Paul Evans, Cathryn Thomas(Glynhir),Mike Davies, Mike Callus (Glyn Abbey), Simon Nicholas,(Milford Haven),Emyr James(Cardigan), Andrea Martin(Ashburnham), Simon Arthur, John Voysey(Trefloyne). Apologies of absence from Elaine Rees(Garnant), Karen Bayliss(Cilgwyn), Catrin Thomas, Martin Dean(Carmarthen), David Lindquist(Newport Links), Richard Brice, Jonathan Lewis(Ashburnham), Julia Denhartog(Cardigan) Minutes of the 2018 AGM were unanimously approved. There were no matters arising. Henry Malloy then took over the matters on the agenda. Rhys Harry gave an update on the Junior coaching scheme in 2018 with 20 coaching days, 10 each for two age groups. The younger age group attended for 81% of the sessions and older age group for 50% mainly owing to more golfing commitments. The main concentration was on the younger group with specific skills enhanced. The U14 players attended regularly and developed well. He thanked the Junior organiser for his support and the next stage will be to liaise with clubs and organisers to identify nominations for coaching in the coming year. Henry Malloy gave a detailed report on the 2018 Junior Golfing activities. Team results were disappointing but individual successes were very good with numerous players playing for Wales. The Rules for Order of Merit competitions for 2019 were discussed. It was agreed that junior players must indicate prior to the first order of merit tournament which club they are representing for the season. The County Championship will be held at Cardigan GC on 28th August 2019 and to be held at Trefloyne GC in 2020. Order of Merit events and dates were agreed for 2019 and venues for 2020 2019 2020 1, Ashburnham April 15 Milford Haven 2 Newport Links April 24th Derllys Court 3 Trefloyne May 27th Cilgwyn 4 Glyn Abbey July 31st Tenby 5 Glynhir August 20th Carmarthen All Order of Merit event results to be e-mailed to David Blackmore who will update them on the DGU Junior website. The County matches and national events calendar will be distributed to all clubs by Henry Malloy and placed on the DGU website. Bryn Thomas(Cilgwyn/Carmarthen) was unanimously approved as County Captain for 2019 supported by Steffan Evans(Glynhir) as Vice Captain. Andrea Martin gave an update on girls’ fixtures for 2019. The Annual dinner for 2019 will be held at Cardigan GC on Nov 1st. In order for players to gain more interest in golf, Mike Davies proposed that local clubs should play each other on a regular basis. Henry Malloy agreed to e-mail all clubs/junior organisers to see who was interested in developing this programme. The Chairman thanked all 12 clubs for attending and wished everyone a successful year.